Back to the corporate world. #amwriting #TheWarChronicles #epicfantasy

 

A year ago (not quite exactly, but close enough) I was laid off from my corporate job. I could have kept that job but I would have had to move to Atlanta, and I just didn’t want to live there. As part of the layoff, I received a pretty nice severance package. So I made a decision.

I would chase my oldest dream. To be a writer. So I did. I went all in, too. I spent money on writing classes, and joined the Superstars Writing group to learn from established writers. I purchased professional covers and hired a professional editor. I made enough money from my books to cover those expenses and a bit more.

But, it’s time to finally face the reality that I just can’t make a living, yet, as a full-time writer. My savings are drying up too fast, and my severance is long gone. And as much as people might want to deny it, you can’t live on dreams alone. You need money.

Now, that’s not to say I haven’t done well in that year. By most industry measures, I have done very well. I’ve written and published two books of a series, written and published several technical articles and written two short stories. Overall I’ve sold over four thousand ebooks and am now a member of the Science Fiction Writers of America. I’ve learned an amazing amount about the business of writing, and learned even more about the process of creating and publishing stories.

So, I am now officially looking for a project/program manager position. That might be a challenge where we live now, but I am confident that I’ll find a job. And I will continue to write, but it will be in my spare time and on weekends. I’m about 2/3 finished with Warlord, and expect to have that delivered to my editor by January, and published on Amazon by February. After that I’ll tackle one of the items on my to write list. So this isn’t about ending my dream, it’s just about pursuing it responsibly.

I am greatly appreciative of the support I’ve gotten as a writer, and am humbled by the idea that thousands of people have now read, and from the reviews I’ve seen, enjoyed my stories. There will be plenty more to come folks, just maybe not as fast as they would have if this writing thing had taken off. But the odds of that are probably similar to winning the lottery.

sad-writer

About seandgolden

Husband, father, author
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

