News and status #amwriting #TheWarChronicles #epicfantasy

OK, so I’ve been lax in posting lately. Lots of reasons for that. First and foremost is that this week was my first week on my new job. I’m back in the grind now, and can only write nights and weekends. So that will impact my output, but on the other hand, having a paycheck coming in has greatly reduced my crushing financial anxiety. That’s a good thing, because now I’m writing purely for the joy of writing again. And I think that’s when I’m a better writer.

paycheck2

The first 2/3 of Warlord are in my editor’s hands now. Because of my poor management of time as I’ve dealt with a lot of conflicting priorities, including the job searching, interviews and working on PHP tutorials and reading books on the subject to get this job, I’ll have to edit the final 1/3 myself. I did all the editing on Warrior, so I think that’s going to be OK, but I really do wish that I could afford to get the rest of Warlord edited. C’est la vie.

I’ve got some things to fix in Warlord. It’s over 105K words now, but the last two chapters are a mess, and I’ve got a lot of tweaking to do of the last several chapters to make it a more compelling story. I’m doing that now. It will probably take a few weeks.

The good news is that doesn’t necessarily change my expected publication of Warlord that much. I had always been targeting late January to mid February as the publication date, and I think that’s still within reach. Especially now that I’ve got some financial stability.

So, it’s all good. This job will ensure that I can pay my bills and move into the house we’re building on the lake, and that is, by far, the most important thing right now. I can keep on writing for years, but this year, I’ve got to get this house built and a mortgage approved.

Thanks to everyone who reads this and supports me. I feel better right now than I have in a long time. It is surprising to me how good it felt to get an actual paycheck today. Even if it was only for four days of work.

Warlord is coming. And it’s going to be a good finale for Lirak’s story. 🙂

About seandgolden

Husband, father, author
This entry was posted in Warlord, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

