An Eagle soars

soaring_eagle_150

 

I have a heavy heart typing this. Glenn Frey has passed away. Glenn Frey and Don Henley were responsible for a large fraction of the soundtrack of my high school years. My best friend and I would crank up the radio with every Eagles song and sing at the top of our lungs as we cruised around town in my ’64 Impala or his Maverick. Songs like “Peaceful Easy Feeling” set the tone for my burgeoning love life. And it was songs like “Desperado” that resonated with my broken heart, time after time.

As I type this, I have “Tequila Sunrise” playing on my iTunes. Not by deliberate action, it’s on random song selection, so I’ll take it as an omen. A message, if you will.

It is our legacies that give us our only chance to push back the inevitability of mortality. Glenn’s genius will live on for a long time to come. And in that small way at least, so will he.

So long Glenn. Your music, in a very real and compelling way, shaped my life, and the lives of my friends and family. You will be missed. You sent me, and all of us, the best of your love. And we are the better for it.

About seandgolden

Husband, father, author
This entry was posted in Storytelling and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

