My new “WIP” or Work In Progress

You hear authors talk a lot about their “WIP” which is shorthand for “Work in Progress” and describes that story out of the hundreds floating around in various stages of incompletion which the author currently considers to be the one they are “seriously” working on.

My new WIP is called “Mountain Home.” Which is the city I work in now. I don’t live in Mountain Home myself, I live across the lake from there, a reasonably short drive, especially when compared to typical city commute times.

But it’s not any sort of contemporary adult fiction story, set in rural Trump-voting mid-America. Maybe it should be, there’s probably a market for that right now.

But it’s not. It’s a post-apocalyptic sci-fi/horror/thriller story about the ultimate fate of the human species in a hostile universe. πŸ™‚

Seriously, it’s about a world where “Skynet” happened, but humans didn’t lose the war. They didn’t really win it either. In fact, the world has mostly become uncivilized, infested with roaming bands of crazed humans, driven mad by genetically engineered viruses released by the AIs as part of the war. The war humans “won” by unleashing the technoplague, which wiped out every transister and computer chip on the planet. Which rendered virtually every aspect of modern technology unusable overnight.

I may have more to share later, but I don’t want to give too much away, and my stories have a history of changing as I write them, and I don’t want to feel obligated to stick to something just because I blogged about it. πŸ™‚

About seandgolden

Husband, father, author
This entry was posted in Mountain Home, Science Fiction, Storytelling, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

