Ancient history #publishing #Softdisk

I already put this up on Facebook and thought, what the heck, I can put it up here too! I can go into a bit more backstory here on my author blog though. The below image was the first issue of “DiskWorld” Magazine On Disk™, the monthly software product that was launched by Softdisk Publishing back in, I think, April of 1986 or 1987. I had just gotten married and left a “secure” programming job (in COBOL) at a local bank when Al Vekovius, a local businessman and ex-professor at the local college (LSU-S) called me and said “I hear you do some Macintosh programming. How’d you like to write Mac programs and edit a monthly periodical?”

I said “Very much, thank you.”

And a few months later, after frantically learning everything I could about Mac programming, we launched the product. I worked there for almost a decade, and ended up as Publisher over all the products before I left for greener (the money kind of “greener”) pastures. But for those several years, I was totally in love with my job. On any given day I might be writing a program, writing an article, working with free-lance programmers submitting their own programs, drawing a cartoon, reviewing a software product or doing almost anything I wanted to.

During that time I probably wrote several dozen programs, ranging from puzzles and games to full fledged graphics programs that rivaled “MacPaint”. I once wrote a greeting card generating program back in the days of black and white dot-matrix printers and my wife still has one of those cards (with my own artwork) in with her keepsakes.

That was thirty years ago when all that started. Wow.

Diskworld1

About seandgolden

Husband, father, author
This entry was posted in authors, Promotion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ancient history #publishing #Softdisk

  1. Pat says:

    Hi, Sean. I was one of the beta testers for Diskworld. Some pretty nifty items! Enjoyed it. I still have most of the issues. Was searching online what the value might be when I saw your post. Nice work, Mr. Programmer/Editor! Pat

    Like

  2. randgalt says:

    Hi Sean. The first money I ever made was from Diskworld. I think it was $100? This is like 40 years ago. The stupid thing is I can’t remember what it was. Maybe a silly game I wrote. Do you have the program lists from the various Diskworlds? I’d love to regain that memory.

    Like

Leave a comment